How to make a ruined meal taste delicious – every time!

people_picking_fruitThis is an entry from my journal from about a year ago. I still refer back in my memory to it every time I think I’m not enjoying the food in front of me, and it works every time.

I just made a meal of poached (frozen) fish, frozen mixed veg and microwave mashed potato. It didn’t appear to be successful, I thickened the fish sauce with cornflour that didn’t work very well, I over-microwaved the mash I think and there were lumpy bits, and when I took my first forkful I realised I’d sprinkled too much salt on. At first I thought ‘oh no, there’s another meal ruined’, and then the thought popped into my head about people in the world who are hungry today and don’t have access to any food.

I thought about the little Jewish boy in the film I watched last night, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, and thought even though the setting for that story was 70 years ago there are still people in the world as hungry as he was.

Then I thought that not only do I have access to food whenever I want it, I don’t even have to go to the effort of growing it, harvesting it, packing it, or even shopping for it every day. It is grown by others, harvested, packed and delivered to local shops by others, for me. And then I can buy what I might need and store it in the refrigerator and freezer, made for me, so it is handy at whatever time of day or night I might want it. I don’t even have to chop the vegetables or mash the potatoes or fillet the fish.

I have such a variety of food I can pick and choose what I want to eat and when. I can flavour it exactly to my liking with herbs, spices, sauces and condiments.

I have as much gas and electricity available at my fingertips as I need to cook when I want. I don’t have to wait for daylight because I have electric lighting whenever I need it. I don’t have to go and gather wood to make a fire to cook it on.

I sent out a blessing and thanks to everybody involved in that food being on my plate in front of me, including the maker of the plate. In less than a minute, that meal became as delicious a meal as I could ever want. I enjoyed and appreciated that meal so much.

“When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change” – Dr Wayne Dyer

Could this be how Jesus turned water into wine? Just something to ponder 🙂

About Dynamo Di

http://www.dancingthroughthestorms.com http://www.facebook.com/DancingThroughTheStorms
This entry was posted in Attitude, Gratitude, Life Improving, Positive Thinking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to make a ruined meal taste delicious – every time!

  1. barbboser says:

    It is so important to be thankful for the things we do have, you are so right! Loved this post

Leave a Reply

